High Acidity Is Keeping Me Back!

screen-shot-2016-10-06-at-2-03-34-pm

As athletes we are always looking for an edge when it comes to performance, something that can take our genetic potential and give it a boost so that we really can maximize our output. The most common issue we have though is that our body doesn’t keep up with our ambition and lifestyle. Hence the need for a supplement hack to try get us closer to what is holding us back.

 

With our current lifestyles and diets one of the biggest issues we see in the body is a huge PH imbalance, this affects the amount of inflammation in the body which is “bad” and a whole different blog. Today I just want to talk about the impact of higher acidity levels while training and how it affects trying to beat the person next to you or your previous record. This is not strictly related to CrossFit but across all sports.

 

When looking at the 3 main energy systems the glycolytic system as well as phosphocreatine system both produce higher amounts of lactic and pyruvic acid. Initially this is not a problem, until the body is not able to recycle out the hydrogen ions quick enough and you start to feel a decrease in muscle power and physical endurance. If you have no idea what I am talking about climb on the assault bike and go as fast as you can for 1min, see how long it takes for the wattage to dramatically decrease. Please make a video for us so we can see your face as you shift through your energy systems.

 

As a coach and athlete I am always looking for a way to buffer this H+ production with training, nutrition and supplementation.

 

Training speaks for itself, you train the energy systems correctly and synergistically they will perform better. Keep in mind that a stronger aerobic system will give you a faster glycolytic system recovery.

 

Nutrition, eating cleaner with less sugars for example will also bring down acidity in your body allowing you to recover faster and push harder.

 

Supplements, now here is the fun part.

We already know about the big players like fish oils, maximum vibrance, turmeric, bcaa’s, beta-alanine etc. These are all great and have huge benefits, if you don’t know about them make sure to invest some time and research them.

 

But I have always wanted more and in a passing conversation with a friend who competes in Iron Man races he recommended a product called Extreme Endurance. After doing some research and finding some great claims (The Extreme Endurance formula and physical chemistry of its 9 ingredients not only assures you that it will buffer production of H+ (Hydrogen ions) and help prevent the acid buildup in your muscles, but it has also been clinically proven to increase aerobic threshold so you can work harder for a longer period of time) and testimonials from games athletes (Camille Le Blanc and Josh Bridges) about the product, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it.

screen-shot-2016-10-06-at-2-00-33-pm

And as life would have it, the product was not available for shipping to Hong Kong.

Where there is a will there is a way (basically I asked Joey) and I got myself a bag of the product to test it for myself.

I did a trial test of (at full speed) 60m prowler push + 6 x 240kg tire flip with a 3min rest for 3 rounds.

On the first day I managed 1 round and a prowler push before packing it in.

My legs were throbbing and I couldn’t walk, needless to say I was ready to faint.

With not much hope I decided to take my 3 tablets in the morning and 3 in the evening and to be honest didn’t follow up my training much but figured I could manage taking the tablets.

4 days later I redid the test, I got through all 3 rounds and at the end still had the ability to hit up some assault bike. The biggest difference for me was my legs not shutting down on me, I still felt like throwing up but managed to get through the workout. After that I knew this is a product we need to have.

 

My recommendation would be to go online and do some research for yourself, see what others are saying about the product, check out the studies that have already been done and make up your own mind. Then if you feel this will work for you read on.

 

Now for the good news, a good friend of mine (Rachel)  is selling it in Hong Kong on this website http://www.vitarevolution.com/  there are quite a few good products on the site and best of all you can use this product code (DOUPI10) to get a 10% discount.

Give me any feedback once you have tried it, I know that you will see a result.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

